NaPoWriMo Day 11: Tanked It!

It’s one of those days again, when the prompt from the folks over at NaPoWriMo are not that much fun to follow. Well, yeah, they’re fun, but they’re not easy. And right now I’m equating ‘fun’ with ‘easy’. So, because I’ve committed to seeing the whole month of April through with a poem a day (or sometimes skipping a day and giving you a whopping TWO poems a day! Yay!), I absolutely have to try my hand at this new type of writing that I haven’t done before. It’s actually quite fun to experiment with new forms of poetry that I’ve never done before–getting out of my comfort zone and all that.

Today’s prompt is to write a type of poem called a tanka. It’s a¬†poem based on syllables, with the pattern being 5-7-5-7-7. According to NaPoWriMo, “[t]hey work best when those final two 7-syllable lines contain a sort of turn or surprise that the first three lines might not wholly anticipate.”

I must admit that I took this poem very seriously. Very. I think it’s quite heavy with emotion.

Tanked It!

Tanka is a poem
That isn’t easy to write.
Syllables and rhyme,
Do not show me a good time.
And I think I’ve just missed it.

______________________________

Comment

11 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 11: Tanked It!

  1. Wow, what a deep and emotional poem! Lol, really?! I was counting the syllables by the way, well done about that :P

  2. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems with your website. It looks like some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Cheers

  3. Pingback: Committed to you | Comfortably Numb

  4. Pingback: Poetry Prompt #7 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  5. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who had been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me breakfast because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this subject here on your web site.

  6. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 11, ‘Jellyfish Harlot’ | O2B heavenly minded

  7. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my weblog thus i came to return the choose?
    .I am trying to to find issues to enhance my web site!I guess
    its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  8. An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I think that you should publish more on this topic, it may not be a taboo matter but generally folks don’t talk about such subjects. To the next! Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

